2013 WSU Salutes 

WSU Salutes honors qualified candidates who have led distinguished lives and demonstrated significant career achievements; have contributed to the success and reputation of Weber State University; and have served their community, state, or nation  with exemplary dedication.

To view recipients achievement videos please click the names or photos below.

  Distinguished Alumnus

After graduation, Mike Malaska ’76, "wedged" his WSU business degree into the world of professional golf, becoming a prominent figure in the PGA. Honored as the PGA Southwest Section PLayer of the YEar in 2010, Malaska is also a highly sought after instructor. In 2011, he was named PGA Teacher of the YEar and is the current director of instruction for Jack Nicklaus Golf Academies worldwide. Never one to forget his Wildcat roots, Malaska occasionally teaches clinics at the annual WSUAA Alumni Golf Classic.


  Distinguished Service

Bonnie Clark ’81 strives to enhance the lives of young people. Clark taught high school in Cache County and later served as the president of two parent-teacher-student associations in Weber County. Clark is a past chair and current board member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Weber-Davis. She and her husband, Jeff, have received multiple community service awards. At Weber State, the couple generously established scholarships in the College of Applied Science & Technology and the John B. Goddard School of Business & Economics.

    Distinguished Service

Bettye Gillespie
 is a fearless civil rights crusader with a 30-year career. She servedon the state’s advisory committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Gillespie fought to shatter racial and gender stereotypes, and in the 1970s, championed the push to give girls the right to wear pants in Utah’s public schools. She has received more than 30 awards including the NAACP’s prestigious Rosa Parks Award. For many years, Gillespie brought her trademark enthusiasm to the Weber State campus where she spearheaded voter registration drives.


  Outstanding Young Alumnus

Late in his college career, Brett Jones ’09 decided to become a teacher. He majoredin both English and Spanish teaching with an English as a Second Language (ESL) teaching minor. At Weber State, Jones received three Crystal Crest Awards:Volunteer of the Year in 2005 and 2008, and Man of the Year in 2007. Jones has worked as a Peace Corps teacher-trainer, a junior high school teacher and an instructor on a Sioux reservation. Currently, Jones is the program coordinator for Playworks. He spends most of his spare time volunteering.


  Lewis W. Shurtliff Award for Contributions to Education Honoree

Louenda Downs ’78 has made it her life’s work to provide quality instruction at Utah public schools. After teaching elementary-age children for seven years, Downs accepted positions where her influence could spread beyond a single classroom. Elected to serve eight years on the Davis Board of Education, Downs was also a member of the Utah Board of Education State Association Board. She co-chaired the“Davis Reads/One Book, One Community” literacy program. In 2007, Downs was selected to a four-year term as a Davis County commissioner and was re-elected in 2011.


  Emeriti Alumni Lifetime Achievement

As a dentist, Leon Clark ’57 knows firsthand the importance of having a healthy smile. As a longtime humanitarian, Clark has traveled the globe offering his professional services to people in need. In 1972, he performed dentistry at a Korean orphanage. Since then, Clark has treated dental patients at orphanages, clinics and hospitals in the Philippines, Tonga, Guatemala, El Salvador, Israel, Ethiopia and Vietnam. Clark also served his own country as a captain in the U.S. Air Force stationed in various hospitals, dental clinics and remote military sites.

  Emeriti Alumni Homecoming Royalty

Forever Wildcats, Dean Hughes ’67 and Kathleen Hurst Hughes ’66 have accomplished much since graduation. Dean published his first novel at age 35 and has since written more than 90 books. Dean retired as an English professor in 2008. Kathleen graduated from Weber State with a bachelor’s degree in English education, and later completed a graduate program in special education. A public school teacher and administrator for 30 years, Kathleen retired from the Provo School District in 2002 to serve in the Relief Society General Presidency of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.


  Student Homecoming Royalty

Current WSU students Tessa Diamond ’16 and Nicholas DeYoung ’14 are no strangers to service and leadership. At Weber State, Diamond served her fellow students through the Emerging Leaders program. She is an active member of the WSU Student Alumni Association and vice president of the WSU Student Involvement and Leadership organization. DeYoung also has held a variety of leadership roles. He co-chaired the student organizing committee that aided the Special Olympics Utah 2011 Winter Games. DeYoung is the current president of the student alumni association.

  President's Award Honoree

Ogden Mayor Mike Caldwell ’96 is determined to energize the bond between Weber State University and Ogden. Caldwell is an advocate of initiatives that seek to transform Ogden into a true college town. Caldwell encourages local residents to support WSU events and invites WSU students to frequent local businesses and participate in Ogden’s many recreational activities. Caldwell helped facilitate the university’s recent efforts to establish campus facilities in downtown Ogden. Before his election, Caldwell was a former Weber County public information officer. He also administered the county’s Recreation, Arts, Museums and Parks (RAMP) fund.

To view a list of all the past Distinguished Service Award recipients click here.
To view a list of all the past Distinguished Alumnus Award recipients click here.
To view a list of all the past Emeriti Alumni Homecoming Royalty recipients click here.
To view a list of all the past H. Aldous Dixon Award recipients click here.
To view a list of all the past Lewis H. Shurtliff Award recipients click here.
To view a list of all the past Outstanding Young Alumnus Award recipients click here.
To view a list of all the past President's Award recipients click here.